©Flegere, Shutterstock



Jannik M. Buettner, Josiane K. Sime Longang, Florian Gerstner, Katharina S. Apel, Beatriz Blanco-Redondo, Leonie Sowoidnich, Eva Janzen, Tobias Langenhan, Brunhilde Wirth, and Christian M. Simon, Central synaptopathy is the most conserved feature of motor circuit pathology across spinal muscular atrophy mouse models. iScience, 2021 Nov 19; 24(11): 103376 (2021)
Simon Hess, Christophe Pouzat, Lars Paeger, Andreas Pippow, Peter Kloppenburg, Analysis of neuronal Ca2+ handling properties by combining perforated patch clamp recordings and the added buffer approach. Cell Calcium, 97, 102411 (2021)
Lisa Wolff, Eika A. Strathmann, Ilka Müller, Daniela Mählich, Charlotte Veltman, Anja Niehoff, Brunhilde Wirth, Plastin 3 in health and disease: a matter of balance. Cellular and Molecular Life Sciences, doi: 10.1007/s00018-021-03843-5. Online ahead of print. PMID: 34023917 (2021)
Brunhilde Wirth, Spinal Muscular Atrophy: In the Challenge Lies a Solution. Trends in Neurosciences, 44(4):306-322 (2021)


Santiago Camblor-Perujo, Natalia L. Kononenko, Brain-specific functions of the endocytic machinery. The FEBS Journal (2021)


Abdulraheem Nashef, Rea Mitelman, Ran Harel, Mati Joshua, Yifat Prut, Area-specific thalamocortical synchronization underlies the transition from motor planning to execution. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 118(6):e2012658118 (2021)


Lijun Ye, Haichao Ji, Jie Liu, Chien-Hua Tu, Michael Kappl, Kaloian Koynov, Johannes Vogt and Hans-Jürgen Butt, Carbon Nanotube–Hydrogel Composites Facilitate Neuronal Differentiation While Maintaining Homeostasis of Network Activity. Advanced Materials, 2102981 (2021)


Lena Pokorny, Lisa Besting, Friederike Roebruck, Tomasz Antoni Jarczok, Stephan Bender, Fearful facial expressions reduce inhibition levels in the dorsolateral prefrontal cortex in subjects with specific phobia. Depression and Anxiety, g (2021)
Daniela Roos, Lea Biermann, Tomasz A. Jarczok and Stephan Bender, Local Differences in Cortical Excitability – A Systematic Mapping Study of the TMS-Evoked N100 Component. Frontiers in Neurosciences, 15:623692, doi: 10.3389/fnins.2021.623692 (2021)


Johannes Bärmann, Helene L. Walter, Anton Pikhovych, Heike Endepols, Gereon R. Fink, Maria A. Rueger, Michael Schroeter, An analysis of the CatWalk XT and a composite score to assess neurofunctional deficits after photothrombosis in mice. Neuroscience Letters, 751: 135811, doi: 10.1161/STROKEAHA.120.032511 (2021)
Stefan J. Blaschke, Lukas Hensel, Anuka Minassian,Susan Vlachakis, Caroline Tscherpel, Sabine U. Vay, Monika Rabenstein,Michael Schroeter M, Gereon R. Fink, Mathias Hoehn, Christian Grefkes,Maria A.Rueger,Translating functional connectivity after stroke: fMRI detects comparable network changes in mice and humans. Stroke; 52(9): 2948-2960 (2021)
Sabine Ulrike Vay, Daniel Navin Olschewski, Helena Petereit, Felix Lange, Nilufar Nazarzadeh, Elena Gross, Monika Rabenstein, Stefan J. Blaschke, Gereon R. Fink, Michael Schroeter, Maria A. Rueger, Osteopontin regulates proliferation, migration, and survival of astrocytes depending on their activation phenotype. Journal of Neuroscience Research; Epub ahead of print.doi: 10.1002/jnr.24954 (2021)


Lukas Hensel, Caroline Tscherpel, Jana Freytag, Stella Ritter, Anne K. Rehme, Lukas J. Volz, Simon B. Eickhoff, Gereon R. Fink , Christian Grefkes, Connectivity-Related Roles of Contralesional Brain Regions for Motor Performance Early after Stroke. Cerebral Cortex, 31(2):993-1007 (2021)


Diba Borgmann, Lionel Rigoux, Bojana Kuzmanovic, Sharmili Edwin Thanarajah, Thomas F. Münte, Henning Fenselau, and Marc Tittgemeyer, Technical Note: Modulation of fMRI brainstem responses by transcutaneous vagus nerve stimulation. Neuroimage, 118566 (2021)
Ruth Hanssen, Alina Chloé Kretschmer, Lionel Rigoux, Kerstin Albus, Sharmili Edwin Thanarajah, Tamara Sitnikow, Corina Melzer, Oliver A Cornely, Jens C Brüning, Marc Tittgemeyer, GLP-1 and hunger modulate incentive motivation depending on insulin sensitivity in humans. Molecular Metabolism, 45:101163 (2021)


Laura Wehmeyer, Thomas Schüller, Jana Kiess, Petra Heiden, Veerle Visser-Vandewalle, Juan Carlos Baldermann, Pablo Andrade, Target-Specific effects of Deep Brain Stimulation for Tourette Syndrome: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis. Frontiers in Neurology, (2021)
Thomas SchüllerTheo O J GruendlerEzra E SmithJuan Carlos BaldermannSina KohlAdrian G FischerVeerle Visser-VandewalleMarkus UllspergerJens KuhnDaniel Huys, Performance monitoring in obsessive-compulsive disorder: Insights from internal capsule/nucleus accumbens deep brain stimulation. Neuroimage: Clinical, 29;31:102746. doi: 10.1016/j.nicl.2021.102746. Online ahead of print (2021)
Petra Heiden, Mauritius Hoevels, Dilruba Bayram, Juan C. Baldermann, Thomas Schüller, Daniel Huys, Veerle Visser-Vandewalle, Pablo Andrade, Connectivity Patterns of Deep Brain Stimulation Targets in Patients with Gilles de la Tourette Syndrome. Brain Sciences, 11;11(1):87 (2021)
Juan Carlos Baldermann, Jens Kuhn, Thomas Schüller, Sina Kohl, Pablo Andrade, Sophia Schleyken, Reinhild Prinz-Langenohl, Martin Hellmich, Michael T. Barbe, Lars Timmermann, Veerle Visser-Vandewalle, Daniel Huys, Thalamic deep brain stimulation for Tourette Syndrome: A naturalistic trial with brief randomized, double-blinded sham-controlled periods. Brain Stimulation, 14(5), 1059-1067 (2021)

Z01 / Z03

Athina Tzovara, Ishmael Amarreh, Valentina Borghesani, M Mallar Chakravarty, Elizabeth DuPre, Christian Grefkes, Amelie Haugg, Lee Jollans, Hyang Woon Lee, Sharlene D Newman, Rosanna K Olsen, J Tilak Ratnanather, Gina Rippon, Lucina Q Uddin, Maria L Bringas Vega, Michele Veldsman, Tonya White, AmanPreet Badhwar, Embracing diversity and inclusivity in an academic setting: Insights from the Organization for Human Brain Mapping. Neuroimage, 229:117742 (2021)


Yaroslav O. Halchenko, Kyle Meyer, Benjamin Poldrack, Debanjum Singh Solanky, Adina S. Wagner, Jason Gors, Dave MacFarlane, Dorian Pustina, Vanessa Sochat, Satrajit S. Ghosh, Christian Mönch, Christopher J. Markiewicz, Laura Waite, Ilya Shlyakhter, Alejandro de la Vega, Soichi Hayashi, Christian Olaf Häusler, Jean-Baptiste Poline, Tobias Kadelka, Kusti Skytén, Dorota Jarecka, David Kennedy, Ted Strauss, Matt Cieslak, Peter Vavra, Horea-Ioan Ioanas, Robin Schneider, Mika Pflüger, James V. Haxby, Simon B. Eickhoff, Michael Hanke, DataLad: distributed system for joint management of code, data, and their relationship. Journal of Open Source Software, 6(63), 3262 (2021)


To share our research progress, results and insights with colleagues and other interested scientists, we have also created a library on the filesharing platform Sciebo. You will need a password to gain access to the CRC1451 library.

Should you have questions, please contact our project manager Dr. Christina Stark.

©jakkaje879, Shutterstock